readingdoc

Reading and Writing and Dancing as Long as the Music Plays

Where Is Education Headed?

Yesterday I was at a meeting of a service organization in which I am very active. As the meeting ended, another member of the group, who is aware of my activism regarding public education, approached me. “I want to ask you a question,” she said. “Where is education headed?”

I have to admit I was a little dumbfounded by the question. Surely this lady had not been under a rock for the last several years; surely she knows what I am about and why. Then she went on. “I have a daughter who has been teaching kindergarten for 28 years. I’m asking for her because she is wondering, if things aren’t going to get any better, maybe it’s time to quit.”

This is a serious question and one that many teachers in our neck of the woods and across the nation are asking themselves. I’m not sure I gave my friend a very satisfactory answer. I briefly reviewed where we are with the reauthorization of ESEA in light of Boehner’s resignation, which is unclear. I told her that there was both good and bad in the drafts I had read before Boehner’s announcement–the good being that the drafts scaled back the amount of influence the USDOE can exert on the states regarding education, the bad being that legislators are still in love with standardized tests and charter schools. But now it was not clear that any of the proposed drafts will be passed and that is discouraging. I told her that I had been monitoring an interim study being conducted by some state legislators last week that heard many experts testify as to the invalidity and harm being done by using student test scores to evaluate teachers as required by a waiver from the effects of the current version of ESEA (otherwise known as NCLB) according to the USDOE. I told her that representatives of Washington State, which had lost its waiver two years ago, testified that they were trucking along just fine without it, so why couldn’t we? That was somewhat encouraging.

But I don’t think any of that caused my friend to leave with any less concern for her daughter. And to be honest, I don’t think anyone can answer her question at this point. It is absolutely clear to those who pay attention that public education has been under attack from many quarters for an extended period of time. The results have been cataclysmic in some areas, just inconvenient in others, but no one has yet been able to point to any lasting positive results. Those who are the enemies of public education (and some of these do not see themselves as enemies, but they are) have spent much time and money to shield what they are doing from the public, and what is most discouraging is the naivetĂ© and placid acceptance of their efforts by many of the stakeholders most affected–parents and teachers. Teachers I understand to some degree, because their jobs are on the line and it is risky to challenge. Common Core, which has received the most public attention, is/was only the most visible piece of the program for dismantling public education, and there are many more prongs to the attack–overuse of standardized tests; collection of inordinate amounts of data on our children that are unreasonable and insecure; the institution of an A-F grading system for schools that ignores the nuances of what success really means in a given community; the use of standardized tests to rank, punish, and eliminate local schools and their boards, students, and teachers; the push to replace these “failing” schools with unregulated charter schools that feed at the public trough.

But wherever I go, I learn that so many parents simply are blind to what is happening and don’t want to believe me when I tell them. I am convinced that the only way to foil the plans of the enemies of public education is to keep fighting, keep up the efforts to make parents aware, not just of what is happening, but of their POWER to stop it. It is definitely an uphill battle, but I for one cannot quit. To quit is to say that what I have devoted my life to is a waste. But more than that, it is to give up on the children of this country and on our very democracy. I won’t quit. That’s the most positive thing I could tell my friend yesterday.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Where Is Education Headed?

  1. In case I haven’t mentioned this in a while, I love you Barbara McClanahan!” Honestly, it is the lack of parental awareness – and worse – the desire to confront what is wrong and take matters into their own hands, that makes me truly insane. How do you fight the enemy if too few know who the enemy is – or even cares! God bless you!

  2. Education Reform, Common Core and it’s plethora of data, along with teacher evaluations are intentionally designed to label the teaching profession as a whole while making it and the teachers involved look largely incompetent, unqualified, and in need of interference by the state. Similar to the mulitiple tests being using against students to label them and insert them into tiers for mandatory state intervention and of course, more interference from the state. Same thing for schools in general. The state (the government) decides who and what is a failure in order to move forward with an agenda for complete control over education. The only winner in this top-down process is the federal department of education, a government agency. Everyone else – children, students, administrators, schools, districts, entire communities, states, and eventually the country- is destined to lose every bit of freedom, voice, and control over all means of public education (and everything else) in the United States.

    ^ That is the plan and it’s working. Perfectly designed destruction of the system by those who have the power to control the system and everyone it in. Hegelian from the inception.

    IMO!
    (and yes, I am very angry about it all.)

Leave a Reply

